Race Information

Team Premier wins Grand Prix Guyader in Douarnenez

After winning the King Juan Carlos Trophy in Cascais last month, the Grand Prix Guyader in Douarnenez is the 2nd grade-one event won by Team Premier (Hendrik Witzmann, Markus Koy & Henrique Anjos). 

After the first day of racing Team Premier was already leading the fleet. 2 days with too much wind and therefore no racing followed. 

Three difficult races were sailed on Thursday, in very light, shifty and unpredictable conditions. Team Premier made the best out of the conditions achieving a 4th, 6th and 10th place. Many other top teams like UAE7 (Wieser) or DEN138 (Hendriksen) achieved bad results in one of the races on Thursday. UAE7 a 32nd place and DEN138 a 29th place. 

On Friday 2 more races followed. In the first race most boats were already over the starting line 30 seconds before the start. The starting line was not well placed, there was a huge advantage on the starboard side of the line so all boats crowded in that area. So a general recall followed and then a black flag start. 

At the first upwind mark the Transbunker Sailing Team (UAE7, Wieser, Pugachev & Leonchuk) were leading the fleet. The other Transbunker team member Evgenij Braslavets (UAE8) was the last boat in the fleet. Due to a mistake before the start UAE8 only crossed the starting line minutes after the starting signal. 

GER11 was the first to round the downwind mark followed by UAE7 and close behind DEN138. UAE20 caught up a few places and rounded the mark in 5th positions just behind RUS27 (Anatoly Loginov and team). 

The first race on Friday was won by GER11 (Brennecke, Hoesch & Pickel) closely followed by UAE7. Lars Hendriksen (DEN138) finished 3rd, GBR803 4th and UAE20 5th. 

Just before the final race of the Grand Prix Guyader the weather changed once again - more wind, 13-14 knots and rain. 

Once again the race started with a general recall and then a black flag start. Lawrie Smith (GBR801) was the first to round the mark. followed by HKN55, DEN138, GER1123 and GER1102. UAE7 rounded the mark in 10th position, with UAE8 and UAE20 right behind them. 

GBR801 (Lawrie Smith) crossed the finish line first followed by DEN138 (Lars Hendriksen), GER1123 (Michael Zankel) and GER1162 (Stephan Link).

Overall Team Premier (UAE20) won the Grand Prix Guyader, 9 points ahead of the Transbunker Sailing Team (UAE7) which had the same amount of points as Lars Hendriksen (DEN138) who was overall 3rd.